Samsung Moment: Meh.

I’m 5 days into the Moment, and I’m underwhelmed, such that I’m already considering going to its cousin, the Hero.  Here’s why:

It’s tinny.  The sound that is.  Most reviews mention it, and they are completely correct.  It almost sounds good, but there is distortion that won’t go away.

The capacitive buttons are neat, but maybe 25% of my button presses are quickly followed by another button press because there is no indication that anything happened.  In some application, for example, the menu button doesn’t do anything, and the only way to know that is that nothing happens when you hit the menu button.

Slider quality: it’s been less than a week and it’s ready starting to wobble.  It’s not that bad right now, but I can see where it’s going.

Speaking of slider, the keyboard… I’m kinda-sorta getting used to the layout, but I’m hitting B rather than Space far too often.  And the biggie here: there is sometimes a HUGE lag between a keyboard press and the character on the screen… the entire point of the hardware keyboard is that you are slower than the OS.  This is really disappointing.

Speaking of input devices, I think I’ve decided that I don’t like the optical mouse.  It’s calibrated differently in different applications; some places a gently scroll goes 3 lines, in other places, 3 pages.  Also, the mouse has the same lag as the keyboard, which makes typo correction a real pain in the butt.

And finally, as of this posting, HTC has annouced that they will eventually release an update to 2.0.  Samsung has not done the same.

Am I going to switch devices?  Right now I’m around 50-50.  HTC just yesterday released a patch that fixes some of they more showstopping bugs, so I’ll see how that pans out.

For those of you using a Moment, how do you think it measures up?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

